Saturday, October 17, 2020

2020 Macavity Awards SMFS Member Winners


During the opening ceremonies of Bouchercon 2020 Sacramento, the winners of the 2020 Macavity Awards nominees were announced. The SMFS power couple of Tara Laskowski and Art Taylor won in their respective categories.


Tara Laskowski won for “Best First Mystery” for her book, One Night Gone, published by Graydon House. This book won an Agatha Award earlier this year and is also up for an Anthony Award. She was the only SMFS member in this category.


In the “Best Mystery Short Story” category, Art Taylor won for his story, “Better Days” in the Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine: May/June 2019 issue. This tale also finished tied for sixth place in the most recent EQMM Readers Award balloting. Art was not the only SMFS member nominated as Barb Goffman with “Alex’s Choice (Crime Travel) and G. M. Malliet with “Whiteout” in the Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine: January/February 2019 issue were also nominated.


The SMFS congratulates Tara and Art on this magnificent accomplishment.


The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year The Macavity Awards are nominated and voted on by members of Mystery Readers International, subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal, and friends and supporters of MRI who all nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in five categories. For more information on the Macavity Awards, please go to the site.

No comments: