Tuesday, May 15, 2018

2018 Derringer Awards

April 16–May 15, 2018, all present Shortmystery members were eligible to vote for the Derringer Award winners from five finalists in each category, previously nominated by SMFS-member volunteer judges.

In this official announcement, the winners appear first and in bold and the finalists follow, alphabetized by author's last name.

Best Flash (Up to 1,000 words)

  • "Cold Turkey" by Patricia Dusenbury, Flash Bang Mysteries ed. Brandon Bourg (Summer 2017)
  • "Happy Birthday" by Alan Orloff, Shotgun Honey ed. Jen Conley, Angel Luis Col√≥n, and Nick Kolakowski (June 15, 2017)
  • "Final Testimony" by Travis Richardson, Flash Fiction Offensive ed, Hector Duarte Jr. and Rob Pierce (July 10, 2017)
  • "Flash Point" by Elizabeth Zelvin, A Twist of Noir ed. Christopher Grant (March 20, 2017)

Best Short Story (1,001-4,000 words)


Best Long Story (4,001-8,000 words)


Best Novelette (8,001-20,000 words)


The Edward D. Hoch Memorial Golden Derringer for Lifetime Achievement is annually awarded to an outstanding living writer of short mysteries, selected by a five-member panel of the SMFS President, Vice President, and Awards Coordinator, and two regular members. This year's recipient:

  • John M. Floyd -
"I’d like to express my sincere appreciation to all or you at the Short Mystery Fiction Society for this great honor. SMFS is an always supportive, always informative group, and I’m truly pleased and humbled to have been given this award. Thank you so very much!"

Congratulations to the Derringer winners and Golden Derringer recipient. The Derringer medal presentation will take place during Bouchercon 2018 opening ceremonies, September 6 in St. Petersburg, Florida.


Joan Leotta said...

Congrats to all!

Anonymous said...

I echo my congrats to all. Great job!