Thursday, May 1, 2008

2008 Derringer Award Results

The Short Mystery Fiction Society's 2008 Derringer Awards results were determined by a vote of the membership at large after member-volunteer judges narrowed the submissions to finalists. Winners bolded:

Best Flash (Up to 1,000 words)
  • "My Hero" by Patricia Abbott (D.Z. Allen’s Muzzle Flash)
  • "A Woman Scorned" by Jillian Berg (Mouth Full of Bullets)
  • "Saved" by Keri Clark (Mysterical-E)
  • "Your New Fan" by Keri Clark (Mouth Full of Bullets)
  • "Dreaming of a Spite Christmas" by B.V. Lawson (Mouth Full of Bullets)

Best Short Story (1,001–4,000 words)
  • "In the Shadows of Wrigley Field" by John Weagly (The Back Alley)
  • "Handful of Stars" by Jack Hardway (Mouth Full of Bullets)
  • "The Promise" by Camille LaGuire (Futures Mystery Anthology Magazine)
  • "We All Come from Splattertown" by Hugh Lessig (Thuglit)
  • "Joyride" by Rick Noetzel (Shred of Evidence)
  • "Brimstone P.I." by Beverle Graves Myers (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine)

Best Long Story (4,001–8,000 words)

Best Novelette (8,001–17,500 words)
  • "Paper Walls/Glass Houses" by Eric Shane (The Back Alley)
  • "The Enlightenment of Magnus McKay" by John Burdett (Wall Street Noir)
  • "Forget Me Not" by Clifford Royal Johns (Mysterical-E)
  • "The Bookworm’s Demise" by Beverle Graves Myers (Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine)
  • "Wasting Assets" by Mike Wiecek (Alfred Hitchcock'a Mystery Magazine)