Tuesday, December 6, 2022

The First Two Pages: “Pyewackett” by KM Rockwood

 The First Two Pages: “Pyewackett” by KM Rockwood

SleuthSayers: No More Guns, No More Tacos by Michael Bracken

SleuthSayers: No More Guns, No More Tacos: This month saw the release of the final episode of the Guns + Tacos novella anthology series, a project that Trey R. Barker and I created a...

SMFS Member Publishing News: Bombay Monsoon by James Ziskin

 

Today is publication day for James Ziskin and his latest book, Bombay Monsoon. Published by Oceanview Publishing, the read is available in digital and print formats at Amazon and other vendors.

 

 

Synopsis:

The last thing Danny wants to see published is his obituary.

The year is 1975. Danny Jacobs is an ambitious, young American journalist who’s just arrived in Bombay for a new assignment. He’s soon caught up in the chaos of Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s domestic “Emergency.”

Willy Smets is Danny’s enigmatic expat neighbor. He’s a charming man, but with suspicious connections. As a monsoon drenches Bombay, Danny falls hard for Sushmita, Smets’s beguiling and clever lover—and the infatuation is mutual.

"The Emergency," a virtual coup by the prime minister, is only the first twist in the high-stakes drama of Danny’s new life in India. The assassination of a police officer by a Marxist extremist, as well as Danny’s obsession with the inscrutable Sushmita, conspire to put his career—and life—in jeopardy. And, of course, the temptations of Willy Smets’s seductive personality sit squarely at the heart of the matter.

Democracy is fragile and the lines of loyalty and betrayal often cross and cannot be untangled.

Perfect for fans of Ken Follett and Steve Berry.


Monday, December 5, 2022

SMFS Members Published in Edgar & Shamus Go Golden: Twelve Tales of Murder, Mystery, and Master Detection from the Golden Age of Mystery and Beyond


Today is publication day for the new anthology, Edgar & Shamus Go Golden: Twelve Tales of Murder, Mystery, and Master Detection from the Golden Age of Mystery and Beyond. Published by Down & Out Books, the read is available at the publisher, Amazon, and other vendors. The SMFS list members in the book are:

 

John Floyd with “Old Money.”

 

O’Neil De Noux with “A Jelly of Intrigue.”

 

Art Taylor with “The Invisible Band.”

 

Website Synopsis: 

Edgar & Shamus welcomes mystery connoisseurs to the Golden Age of Mystery and Murder…Have we ever really left? Has the Golden Age ever really slipped over the falls? The puzzle, the who-dun-it, the why-dun-it, the how-dun-it, and the unshakable alibi are as much afoot today as they were when Dr. Watson documented Holmes’s exploits under the glow of gaslight. As if picking up where the early masters of detection left off, Edgar & Shamus features twelve original mystery tales written exclusively by Edgar Allan Poe Award and Shamus Award-winning authors.

Edgar winner Martin Edwards promises a few relaxing days at a quiet and respectable English resort with criminologist Darius Fortune—or does he? Shamus winner John Floyd’s private detective Luke Walker reserves a 1940s seat for you in the New Orleans Quarter—paid for with old money. To save a friend from a murder rap Shamus winner P. J. Parrish’s “Salvage Consultant” Mavis Magritte must untangle an unshakable alibi with a set of risqué bunny ears. Shamus winner Brendan DuBois rebuilds Boston’s historic and famed Scollay Square without pulling a single building permit. It’s anybody’s guess which master detective might solve the big caper in Edgar winner Art Taylor’s “The Invisible Band”—Nero Wolfe, Miss Marple, Charlie Chan, Lord Peter Wimsey, Father Brown, and even Mr. Holmes are among the all-star sleuths assembled to solve the baffling mystery. In post WWII Havana, “vices are annuities” for Shamus winner Carolina Garcia-Aguilera’s veteran P.I. Sophie Stevenson. Thanks to Tennessee Williams, Shamus winner O’Neil De Noux’s private dick Lucien Caye is up to his hip-pocket in extortion. Edgar winner Doug Allyn’s major crimes detective and WWII combat veteran Dolph LaCrosse returns home only to be called the “new guy” by fellow cops. The war to end all wars may be over, but political skullduggery is still afoot in Shamus winner Lia Matera’s “The Party.” When a “riverboat” gambler washes up dead, Shamus winner Kristen Lepionka’s LA homicide dicks Hewitt and Carmichael are up to their necks in suspects all capable of dealing from the bottom of the deck. It’s trouble with a capital “T” when a Tyrone Power look-a-like saunters into Shamus winner Lori Armstrong’s Marlow Detective Agency.

In Edgar winner John McAleer’s “The Case of the Illustrious Banker,” 1920s London-based detective Henry Von Stray and his able collaborator in the detection of crime Professor John W. Dilpate are up against a “nippy bit of work” in one of their most baffling cases yet. Discovered more than eight decades after first penned, “Illustrious Banker” makes its debut in Edgar & Shamus. McAleer—forty years before he would win the Edgar Award unanimously beating out Christie’s autobiography—created Von Stray and Dilpate in 1937 during the Golden Age of Mystery.

Sunday, December 4, 2022

SMFS Member Publishing News: Tomato Rage by Albert Tucher


SMFS list member Albert Tucher’s short story, Tomato Rage, is published today in Black Cat Weekly #66. Published by Wildside Press, the issue is available here in digital format. Please note that this is issue #66 even though there is a “64” on the cover.

 

Website Synopsis:

Our 66th issue kicks off our holiday festivities, thanks to Katherine Fast’s “Reunion” (brought to you by Acquiring Editor Barb Goffman) Plus we have an original tale by Albert Tucher (courtesy of Acquiring Editor Michael Bracken), and a darker science fiction story by David C. Smith (thanks to Acquiring Editor Cynthia Ward, who had been on leave for the last few issues.) On the mystery front, we have another Johnny Liddell mystery from Frank Kane, a historical novel (okay, a western...but it’s also a mystery!) by W.C. Tuttle), and of course a solve-it-yourself puzzler from Hal Charles.

On the science fiction end, we have a fun tale by the late British master Arthur Sellings, who has been too-long neglected. We hope to have more of his work in future issues. We also have strong stories from Murray Leinster and George O. Smith, plus another Jules de Grandin psychic detective yarn by Seabury Quinn, from the pages of the legendary pulp magazine Weird Tales.

 

Here’s this issue’s lineup:

Mysteries / Suspense / Adventure:

“Tomato Rage,” by Albert Tucher [Michael Bracken Presents short story]

“Tracking Time” by Hal Charles [Solve-It-Yourself Mystery]

“Reunion,” by Katherine Fast [Barb Goffman Presents short story]v

“Pass the Word Along,” by Frank Kane [short story]

Sundog Loot, by W.C. Tuttlet [novel]

 

Science Fiction & Fantasy:

“Sassenden’s Dream,” by David C. Smith [Cynthia Ward Presents short story]

“The Cautious Invaders,” by Arthur Sellings [short story]

“The Disciplinary Circuit,” by Murray Leinster [novella]

“The Vengeance of India,” by Seabury Quinn [short story]

Spacemen Lost, by George O. Smith [novel]

Little Big Crimes: Street Versus the Stalker, by Pam Barnsley

Little Big Crimes: Street Versus the Stalker, by Pam Barnsley:   "Street Versus the Stalker," by Pam Barnsley, in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, November/December 2022. A modest little st...

Saturday, December 3, 2022

SMFS Member Publishing News: Police Navidad by Josh Pachter

 
SMFS list member Josh Pachter’s short story, Police Navidad, appears today at Kings River Life Magazine. The Christmas mystery short story originally appeared in an issue of Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine in 2015. It can be read for free online at KRL.