Sunday, November 22, 2020

SMFS Members Publishing News: BOULD* Awards 2020 Short Story Anthology: *Bizarre, Outrageous, Unfettered, Limitless, Daring

Numerous SMFS list members are in the new book, BOULD* Awards 2020 Short Story Anthology: *Bizarre, Outrageous, Unfettered, Limitless, Daring and several have won an award this year for their story in the book. Edited and published by SMFS list member, Jake Devlin, the read is available in both eBook and print formats at Amazon and other vendors. The SMFS members in the read, and the award he or she won where appropriate, are listed below.


Craig Faustus Buck with “Heavy Debt” as well as “Cuppa Joe” and “2 is for Taboo.”


Chris Chan with “The Six-Year-Old Serial Killer” as well as “Death on the Toilet.”


Lynne Chick with “Time Share.”


Jan Christensen with “Wicked Wanda.”


John R. Clark with “Flat Broke” as well as “Nowhere to Hide” and “Flat Broke.”


Missye K. Clarke with “Punxsutawney Kill.”


Maddi Davidson with “The Call of the Dead.”


Publisher/ Editor Jake Devlin with “Arrggh!!” as well as “Is Today The Day?” and “An Apocalyptic Micro Short Story.”


Lesley A. Diehl with “Room Service.”


Pamela Ebel with “Two Heads are Better Than One” as well as “Welcome to Bay City” and “The Devil’s in the Details.” “Two Heads are Better Than One” was selected as the Second Place winner.


Will A. Emerson with “No Matter” as well as “Moma’s Boy-The Tale of Edward and Sophia” and “Honor Amongst the Rigid Loyals 2.” “No Matter” was selected as the Third Place winner.


John M. Floyd with “Sightings” as well as “Mythic Heights” and “Eyes in the Sky.”


Heidi Hunter with “A Game of Cat and Mouse.”


Hope Isreal with “Till Death Do Us.”


Ken Lawrence with “The Coldest Goodbye.”  This short story was selected as the First Place winner.


Joan Leotta with “Long Live Quennie!”


Sharon Marchisello with “Halloween Justice.”


Abe Margel with “Message in a Bottle” as well as “The Garden.”


Bern Sy Moss with "The Blind Date.” This short story was selected as the Fourth Place winner.


Susan Oleksiw with “My Pal Charley Solves a Problem” as well as “Myrtle Volunteers.”


Pete Peyronie with "Paint Your Nude?"


KM Rockwood with “Staying Safe….VERY Safe.”


Steve Shrott with “Lydia” as well as “Belzie’s Breakthrough.”


Faye Snowden with “Mercy” as well as “Andromeda, the Chained Lady, or Storm in the Cane Field.”


Cathi Stoler with “A Grave Conversation.”


Louise Taylor with “Gas.”


Gabriel Valjan with “Tampons.”


Sylvia Maultash Warsh with “Flamingo Nights.”


Elizabeth Zelvin with “Rule One” as well as “Invisible.” 



Are you an adventurous, daring reader? Like to explore new frontiers? If so, this one's for you.

In this third annual edition, you'll find 54 of the weirdest, most outrageous, wackiest, scariest, puzzlingest (is that really a word?) short stories submitted for this anthology in 2020. (There were 21 in the 2018 edition, 43 in 2019, all selected by a panel of independent judges.)

You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll be shocked, scared, and maybe even perflutzed by some of the stories you'll find, in many different genres and styles. But with nearly every story, we know you'll be surprised.

We expect the 2021 edition to be BOULDer (no relation to the city in Colorado), and that'll raise the bar even higher for the 2022 edition. We might wind up changing “Limitless” to “Loopy” if writers can really let their inhibitions go and let their haywire creativity loose.

But now it's time for you to quit reading these promo bits, brace yourself and dig in. Have fun!

No comments: