Wednesday, January 27, 2021

SMFS Members Nominated for the 2021 Edgar Awards

The nominees for 2021 Edgar Awards, so named to honor Edgar Allen Poe, have been announced by the Mystery Writers Of America. Winners will be announced on April 29, 2021. There are twelve categories in fiction and nonfiction and SMFS list members have been nominated this year in two categories.


The nominated members and their categories are:


Best Short Story 

Leslie Elman for “The Summer Uncle Cat Came to Stay," published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine: January/February 2020 issue. 

Joseph S. Walker for "Etta at the End of the World," published in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine: May/June 2020 issue. 

James W. Ziskin for “The Twenty-Five-Year Engagement,” in the anthology, In League with Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon.



The G. P. Putnam’s Son Sue Grafton Memorial Award

James W. Ziskin with Turn To Stone: An Ellie Stone Novel published by Seventh Street Books. The book is also under consideration for a Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel.



SMFS salutes our list members in this accomplishment and wish them all the best as they represent the SMFS. The full list of all the nominees can be found on the MWA website.

No comments: