Friday, April 3, 2020

SMFS Official Announcement: 2020 Derringer Award Finalists

Since 1998, the Short Mystery Fiction Society has awarded the annual Derringers—after the popular pocket pistol—to outstanding published stories. The awards recognize outstanding stories published during 2019. Results of membership voting are scheduled to be posted on May 1, 202020.

As graphically posted late last night to our list by 2020 Derringer Awards Coordinator Tony Rudzki, these are the official 202020 Derringer Award Finalists:

Trey Dowell
The Two-Body Problem
Josh Pachter
2 Percent
Lissa Marie Redmond
C J Verburg
The Six-Year-Old Serial Killer
Chris Chan
Grist For The Mill
Kaye George
Love, or Something Like It
Michael Bracken
A Sure Thing
C.C. Guthrie
On the Road with Mary Jo
John Floyd
Pig Lickin’ Good
Debra H. Goldstein
Miss Starr’s Good-bye
Leslie Budewitz
None Shall Sleep
Sylvia Maultash Warsh
Pretty Dreams
Peter W. J. Hayes
See Humble and Die
Rick Helms
Lucy's Tree
Sandra Murphy
Her Sister's Secrets
Brendan DuBois
The Cripplegate Apprehension
Rick Helms
The Concrete Smile
Frank Zafiro
The Dutchy
Doug Allyn
I Called to Say You're Dead
Stephen Greco

A vote of the SMFS membership will determine the winner in each category. Results will be announced in May 2020.

For more on the Derringers and the rules, please see the 
Derringer Awards Policy post

Kevin R. Tipple 


Judy Penz Sheluk said...

Will we be sent a link to read the stories and to vote? I seem to recall we used to have a separate group for this on Yahoo.

Kevin R. Tipple said...

As always, instructions were given on the list for voting.