Saturday, July 1, 2017

SMFS Members among 2017 Macavity Award Nominees

The Macavity Award is named for the “mystery cat” of T.S. Eliot (Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats). Each year The Macavity Awards are nominated and voted on by members of Mystery Readers International, subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal, and friends and supporters of MRI who all nominate and vote for their favorite mysteries in four categories. The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies at Bouchercon in Toronto, Thursday, October 12.

We have four members of the Short Mystery Fiction Society nominated this year in two categories.

In the category of  Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Novel:

Edith Maxwell for Delivering The Truth, Midnight Ink.

In the category of Best Short Story:

Craig Faustus Buck for Blank Shot” in Black Coffee, Darkhouse Books.

Paul D. Marks: Ghosts of Bunker Hill” in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Dec. 2016.

Art Taylor forParallel Play” in Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning, Wildside Press.

The full list of all the 2017 Macavity Award Nominees can be found on the website. Congrats and good luck to all the nominees and especially to those members of the SMFS!

1 comment:

Art Taylor said...

Thanks for the shout-out here! Congrats to Edith, Craig, and Paul. Such an honor to be listed in your ranks!